So Much Hate

Current Song playing in the background:
Switchfoot – Love Alone is Worth the Fight

This past week has been really stressful, depressing, tiring. The election, the earthquake that happened early this morning and still ongoing. This song by Switchfoot is one of my favorites from the Fading West album. I guess I chose this song to link because it’s perfect for what I’m about to talk about.

***

Is that a bandwagon I see? Let’s jump on it!

Yes guys, I’m also going to talk about the latest hot topic – the US 2016 Election results. Das right, me, the one person who doesn’t know jack about politics in NZ let alone in America. For this blog’s purposes, I’m focusing on the social aspect resulting from the election’s fallout – particularly from the social media side of things.

Let’s begin with a little intro about what “I know”. Firstly, I was a Clinton supporter. Why? Probably because of the media’s negative portrayal of Trump. I knew little about the email scandal, I knew that she was all for abortion, and that lots of famous celebs were backing her. As for Trump, you know the usual – anti-Mexican, misogynist, sexual harassing, racist, homophobic; you know the list. I know what the media tells me.

When the election results was finalised, I was shocked as many were, angry, disappointed, terrified. I prayed for God to watch over America, I asked Him why. I found myself sighing at work for a couple of days. I couldn’t even sleep properly. I kept talking to Josh about just how upset I was. But something changed the last few days – no, I didn’t start supporting Trump.

A few posts, comments, news article happened on Facebook. The first trigger was a NZ Herald article about the increase Google search on “Move to New Zealand“. As I started reading the comments on the FB post, a little bit of me felt saddened. ‘We’re full here’ ‘We don’t want you here’ ‘Americans are dumb, we don’t need you’ ‘Time for us to build a wall’ ‘No Clinton supporters’ etc etc. I’m sorry, is that Trump speaking here?

Next trigger was a “what’s happening in the Twitterverse” link I saw. In here, there were tweets about what the minorities are going through in America. People were getting beaten up for no reason, getting their properties vandalised, getting abused in public etc etc. I couldn’t sleep that night and I remember being utterly exhausted at work the next day.

I’ve come to a conclusion that you know what, I don’t hate Trump for winning. What I hate were the emotions and hatred that incited from his speeches – the things he promised he would do, the words said. Trump wasn’t the real issue here, it was hate. Regardless of who won, there will always be hate for the other side. I don’t think there’s ever a president who pleased 100% of the crowd. Even Jesus who died for love and all things good had people who wanted Him dead. No one’s a crowdpleaser, because bigger things are at work; Love vs Hate.

It’s the public sphere non-Trump voters are afraid of. It’s the PEOPLE itself. Why? We are not perfect, we are judgemental, hateful and hypocritical.

I live in New Zealand, I’m an Asian. I don’t even need to be in America to get racial slurs thrown my way. I myself like to mock other races at times. I push away people I don’t get along with; walls I’ve built to shut out unwanted people. I am my own Donald Trump – and so are YOU.

Remember when ISIS attacked Paris and other countries, the hashtags #prayforparis came about. Posts after posts of people asking where the love is. Well let me ask you, where is your love? Do you love your neighbours as yourself, do you treat your friends nicely, do you treat your parents with respect? When was the last time you put someone else ahead of you. Are your words pleasing to the ears? Mmmmmmm. It’s not Trump, it’s us. Humans are sinners, that’s why the Devil loves us so. We use hate to stand against hate. We use words and weapons to stand for what we love. We say “I feel terrified for my LGBTQ friends, the minorities” – have you walked past a transgender on the street and judged them in your heart? I drive past annoying taxi drivers and in my head I’m thinking “freaking Indians”.

We hate on other people’s flaws, but we forget we aren’t flawless. There’s many things about myself that others hate. So what is there to do from here?

Jesus said to them, “It is not the healthy who need a doctor, but the sick. I have not come to call the righteous, but sinners.”

Mark 2:17

“The most important one,” answered Jesus, “is this: ‘Hear, O Israel: The Lord our God, the Lord is one. Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.’ The second is this: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ There is no commandment greater than these.”

Mark 12:29-31

We are to love, firstly, our God. Through that love we learn and receive from Him, we learn to love others in return. Remember, Jesus ate with the sinners, so who are we to reject the people who we judge as “sinful”. We aren’t blameless and we fall short on a daily basis. It’s time we stop hating on others, stop taking our anger out on others and proclaiming on FB that people are idiots and swearing your head off. Remember, what we say becomes a reflection of our own character, we get labeled as “that guy who always get angry” “the girl who keeps ranting on FB” “the girl who’s always swearing about other people” etc etc as the result.

Let’s leave Trump to his own work, and whatever may happen, will happen. He’ll be judged according to his own works. This applies for any leaders out there. As for us, we can diminish their power a little just by having lots of love for others.

“Do not judge, or you too will be judged. For in the same way you judge others, you will be judged, and with the measure you use, it will be measured to you. “Why do you look at the speck of sawdust in your brother’s eye and pay no attention to the plank in your own eye? How can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when all the time there is a plank in your own eye? You hypocrite, first take the plank out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to remove the speck from your brother’s eye.

Matthew 7:1-5

Erika.

Leave a Reply

